Cobra Starship

Cobra StarshipBand name: Cobra Starship

Labels: Decaydance / Fueled By Ramen

Band Members: Gabe Saporta, Ryland Blackinton, Victoria Asher, Nate Novarro, Alex Suarez


  • While the City Sleeps, We Rule the Streets (2006)
  • Viva La Cobra! (2007)
  • Hot Mess (2009)
  • Night Shades (TBC 2011)


Cobra Starship was created by Gabe Saporta in 2005 after he left pop punk outfit, Midtown.

They combine features of pop punk and synthpop to achieve a unique sound and have gained a reputation as a fun, live band. They signed to Pete Wentz’ Decaydance label and have toured with many bands from the roster including Fall Out Boy, Gym Class Heroes and The AcademyIs…

Viva La Cobra! was released in late 2007 and was produced by Patrick Stump (Fall Out Boy). Guest appearances on the album included Travie McCoy and V.I.P Party Boys. They toured this album extensively with bands such as Metro Station and The Cab.

In 2009 they released, what some critics perceive to be, their best album in Hot Mess. With a slightly more mature sound they still entertained with tracks such as ‘Good Girls Go Bad’and ‘Pete Wentz is the only reason we are famous’.

The album is by far their best selling and debuted at #4 on the Billboard 200 album charts, being awarded 8/10 by Rock Sound magazine.

Their fourth album is expected in the summer of 2011 and will reportedly be called ‘Night Shades’