Panic! At The Disco

Panic! at the DiscoBand name: Panic! At The Disco

Label:  Fueled By Ramen

Band Members: Brendan Urie (vocals, guitar and piano), Spencer Smith (drums)


  • A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out (2005)
  • Pretty. Odd. (2008)
  • Vices & Virtues (2011)


The band hail from Las Vegas, Nevada and formed in 2004. Originally a four-piece, the teensinitially worked solely as a Blink-182 cover band.

As time progressed, the band committed to writing their own demos and posted them through the PureVolume website. They also sent a link to Fall Out Boy bassist, Pete Wentz, in the hope that he would return correspondence.

He did just that.

Wentz met the band and was suitably impressed with what he heard, and signed them to his Decaydance/Fueled by Ramen label.

In the summer of 2005, the band recorded their critically acclaimed debut album. Featuring a mixture of electronics, strings and horns, they developed their own unique take on how to write and perform pop punk songs. Initially compared to Fall Out Boy, due to singer Urie’s vocal style,they amassed huge support and supported huge acts (including their mentors FOB) as theyembarked on a world wide tour.

During this time, the band also received an MTV award for BestMusic Video, for their release of their single ‘I Write Sins, Not Tragedies’.

In May 2006, original bassist, Brent Wilson, left the band due to personal and musical reasons.He was swiftly replaced by Jon Walker as the band continued touring their debut album. Panic! also began to gain a reputation as one of the most entertaining acts around using dark, circusthemed props on their sets for the majority of their tours.

In mid 2007 the band began writing and recording their second full length effort called Pretty.Odd. This album was a huge change to its predecessor which split many fans opinions. The album represented such a difference that it has been compared to work of The Beatles, TheKinks and The Beach Boys. Whilst a controversial move, this album still proved to be popular and was certified Gold in the UK. Even though the album had strayed from common pop punk, they still played with bands from that genre such as Motion City Soundtrack and The Hush Sound to the more emo, melodic Dashboard Confessional.

In spring 2009, the band began recording material for their then-untitled third studio album. However, on July 6, 2009, guitarist and co-song writer Ryan Ross and bassist Jon Walker announced via the band’s official website that the two were leaving the band. They cited musical differences had caused them to leave and embark upon a new adventure with a new band, ‘TheYoung Veins’.

Panic! continued to tour, however, with stand in musicians, as they were scheduled to support Blink 182 on their reunion tour. They also released a single, their first since the change in line up,which featured on the film, ‘Jennifer’s Body’. It was called ‘New Perspective’ and was released in late July 2009.

Urie and Smith entered the studio in 2010 to record what is their 3rd album ‘Vices and Virtues’,which was released in March 2011. The duo embarked on a tour soon after and returned to their over-the-top stage shows and huge production. Since the release of ‘Vices & Virtues’, the band’s musical sensibilities have returned to the theatrical pop rock of their debut, albeit more mature and restrained in the style of Pretty. Odd.

Urie has gone on record several times claiming that thiswas not the band’s intention, stating that ‘Virtues’ is a rebirth for the band and indicative of a new identity following the departures of Ross and Walker.

Have your say2 Comments

  1. […] Panic! At The Disco joined this list shortly before Christmas, and it told at the gig, as the venue was heaving long before the support was even on stage. […]

  2. […] step-change (or at least the start of a diversification) in pop punk – making way for bands like Panic At The Disco and The Cab. I’d argue that until this point, vocalists in many pop punk bands were largely […]